Weekly Photo Challenge:On Top

Post a Week                                                                    4/18/2014

I young man sitting on a rock ledge checking out the view of the Grand Canyon. The best seat in the canyon.A Seat With AView 1

Here are two people sitting in the best two people seat in the Grand Canyon checking out the view from their vantage point. Wait a minute that is what I said in the above picture. The truth is that I know photos have more character when there is people in the photograph. I never would have thought I would see anyone sitting on the edge of the Grand Canyon but to see the same thing twice in one day blew me away.

I shot a waterfalls in Maui several years ago ,when I was barely starting photography, I entered it into the Los Angeles County Fair and it got an honorable mention. I was told by my instructor that if I had had a person in the photo it would have taken first place in not the Grand Champion. I never forgot that!

Two Brave Souls 2

My wife and I went to watch our granddaughter do her competition cheer. This is not her group – I had trouble with my camera.

DSC_2540 copy

This young lady got to swim and play with the whales. She’s on top of the world  and loves her job.

DSC_1185 copy

I love this photo with two old buzzards sitting on top of a chimney.

DSC_3080 copy B

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge:On Top

  1. Those are great shots, Jim. The young man scares me. I hope his feet are not dangling! That rock looks like it has a crack going all the way across and it could fall off at any time. I’m scared just thinking about it. Top is good, but it has its scary moments. No pain, no gain, I guess! 🙂

    • Both of those pictures the people had their legs dangling down toward the bottom of the canyon. That is why I thought the pictures were great because that was a moment in time that I nor anyone else will see again. Thanks for posting back to me. I’m coming up to my 200th post maybe this week after a little over two years at posting. I think I may know then I knew when I started.

      • Wow! time flies, doesn’t it? I think I just celebrated two years in March. Dangling legs over the Grand Canyon gives me the willies just hearing about it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

