OCTOBER: Pumpkins Gigantic

A week ago I posted about October, how it was starting to get cooler,the trees are going to start changing color and the bugs weren’t going to bug much longer.

Yes it’s October the time of the year when those gigantic gourds they call pumpkins come out of gardens, get loaded on trailers and make their way to the State weigh in stations. I had the good fortune of being in Cheyenne,Wyoming one year when it was pumpkin weigh in time.

These growers are serious about trying to grow a pumpkin larger than anyone else. Most of these growers have been doing this for several years. Even though they are competitors there was a since of friendship and everyone would help each other muscle these large gourds around to get them on the scale, measured and weighed.DSC00408 copy

BTW Wyoming only has a 90 day growing season.

DSC00418 copy

This was the winner for Wyoming that year and yes that is his son sitting on top, like a little King of Pumpkins.DSC00421 copy

How much did it  weigh—just see for yourself.

DSC00419 copy

I wrote this blog today because I read in the news yesterday that this is that time of the year when the Pumpkin Gigantic come out of their gardens to compete for top honor, The King Of the Gourds.

This year the world record was broken two times. First time was 2012/09/25 when Steve Geddes of Boscawen,NH came in with a pumpkin weighing1,843.50 lbs. A new world record.

Seven days later 2012/10/01 Ron Wallace produced a monster weighing 2,009 Pounds.  Another new world record   Ron said that the pumpkin was growing 35 pounds a day.

Ron walked away with a check for $ 5,500 plus a bonus of $10,000 for being the first pumpkin to weigh over one ton.

I hate to say this, the pumpkins in Cheyenne seem puny compared to the world records. They looked pretty dam big to me at the time.

I’m glad I only eat pumpkin once a year, that sounds fatting to me. I have enough trouble with what I do eat.

.

 

3 thoughts on “OCTOBER: Pumpkins Gigantic

  1. Oh… MY GOSH!!

    I can’t believe how big pumpkins & some other veges can get. This is AMAZING to me. I can’t even keep a pot plant alive! Really terrific pictures. I wonder how many that pumpkin would feed… just amazing.

Leave a Reply

